Giving my heart away in Marriage

“Are you sure?” He asked me for the umpteenth time. You see I wasn’t sure if I wanted Olu to marry her but I had orchestrated their meet from the start.
He was bad for me, I kept telling myself but everytime he called, our conversations slipped into hours – I convinced myself that I could have this with anyone; and that I pretty much stuck with.
My nerves were screaming, my heart kept saying “Bimpe, ro tara e” but still I found myself saying “Yes, go ahead and marry her; forgive her for lying to you, it happens you know and I’m sure it’s because she loves you”
Nkiru had told Olu lies upon lies – “No, she didn’t have a boyfriend”, “she had been single for a long time” – he had asked all the questions, and she had garnished all her answers with false truths and I had gone along with it. Well, these things happen I told myself and every attempt to be with Olu had proved irresponsible to say the least, our relationship never lasted and we fought a lot but without each other, our lives were none existent.
I gave him my friend and respected their decision to be with each other, I stayed away as much as I could but our time just kept clashing.
Did I love him? I don’t know but being with him was fun. We knew ourselves and respected each other’s space.
Standing here and being asked if I was sure they should be married, after she told him the truth – what was I to say? No? I couldn’t have said that, he stood a better chance with me but maybe his path was with her.
“What should I do Bimpe?” I laughed, am I a soothsayer now. I leaned beside him and smelt his aftershave, the musky one I was used to. Olu believes I’m never serious about anything; maybe he is right but I’ve told him to go ahead – will asking me a second time leave me rethinking my decision.
“Olu, I will stand behind Nkiru and hold her bouquet as you say I do” I leaned back, opened the car door and gave him the crystal ring he planned to use to propose tonight “Give it to her, my heart is going with you”

Pulchae

2 Comments

Hey you, I'm happy you are reading my blog. If you have any comment or advice, email me - tinuolaidowu@ymail.com

