a song I used to know

I knew you once

You were my song

I knew your lyrics by heart and I played your melody

You whispered to my soul with your words

Your beats made my heart sing I was complete

But then, I lost my song

I searched for the symphony that touched my spirit

I tried to replace you with other songs but their melodies didn’t fit

I couldn’t find the tracks that my feet tapped to

And so I miss you even though it sounds crazy

I am stuck because your tune can’t be replaced; my heart just won’t let it

My mind is very resilient you see; you were the best it sought

You were the miracle that came to be

My lips would not desecrate itself by singing another melody

I keep repeating the words, slowly at first so I won’t forget then faster still – so you would come back to me and I could keep singing you

No song scores on my instruments but yours; no lyrics pop into my heart like yours

Slowly, I let it go and pace each tune mildly

I need to sing to fade; I need to find a new song

So each day I sing till I’m spent – till my voice is hoarse

Hoping that each day your beat will fade away and your melody will find another heart to start a song with…

 

3 Comments

Hey you, I'm happy you are reading my blog. If you have any comment or advice, email me - tinuolaidowu@ymail.com

